The Institute of Environmental Studies was carved out of the Institute of Technology by the Governing Council of Kwara State Polytechnic Ilorin at the end of the 1994/1995 academic session. Five Environmental Studies Department were exercised from the Institute of Technology to constitute the present Institute of Environment Studies. i.e

  1. Department of Architectural Technology
  2. Department of Building/Quantity Surveying technology
  3. Department of Estate Management Technology
  4. Department of Land Surveying Technology
  5. Department of Town Planning Technology

The above mentioned departments were all moved to the Main campus of the Polytechnic in 1995, to form the present Institute of Environmental Studies. The pioneer Director, TPL. R.O. OLAIFA steered the ship of the new Institute from 1996 to 1998;Tpl.A.O.Sulyman 1998 to 2001; Tpl.R.O.Olaifa 2001 to 2003; Alh.A.T. Belgore 2003 to 2003; Bldr.M.A.Kolawole(Mrs)2003 to 2004;Tpl.A.O. Sulyman2004 to 2006; Tpl.R.O.Olaifa 2006 to 2009; Suvr.J.K.Alabi 2009 to 2009; Tpl. S.B.Fadipe 2009 to 2013; Suvr.A.G.Aremu 2013 to 2016; Bldr.M.K.Owolabi 2016 to date.

The Institute of Environmental Studies is currently constituted with six Academic departments, following the split of Quantity Surveying as a distinct department from the former Department of Building Technology/Quantity Surveying, changed from Department of Land survey to Surveying and Geo-informatics and also Department of town planning to Urban and Regional Planning. An addition seventh department would soon take off in the Institute of Environmental Studies following the introduction of transportation planning and Management. The new department has undergone the necessary resource inspection by the NBTE and is expected to take off fully in the next academic session 2017/2018.




Print   Email